Fiction Review: Marty Wingate’s “Between a Rock and a Hard Place”

Just released today – Between a Rock and a Hard Place!

I had a lot of fun reading this book. When I received it, I didn’t know it was part of a series, so it took a me a second reading of the first chapter to really understand the characters and how they all fit together. But it was worth the time, as these are characters you definitely want to meet!

It’s probably against some rule to giggle your way through a murder mystery, but I couldn’t help it – Pru is such a fun, real character, and the situations Ms. Wingate wrote her into were so funny. I couldn’t put the story down!

Ms. Wingate’s love for, and knowledge of, gardens comes through from the first page to the last. Yet she doesn’t talk over the head of her reader, but shares her enthusiasm for the beautiful outdoors in such a clear way, I could almost smell the flowers Pru walked through in the book. It definitely made me want to get out and take a walk, once I finished reading! 

The mystery had many layers, and kept me guessing until the end, with surprises I didn’t see coming. I definitely want to go back and check out the first few books in the series, to know these characters better!

I received a review copy of this work from the publisher through NetGalley.

One thought on “Fiction Review: Marty Wingate’s “Between a Rock and a Hard Place”

Leave a Reply

