Non-Fiction Review: Brandon D. Crowe’s “The Message of the General Epistles in the History of Redemption”

P&R Publishing’s mission is “to serve Christ and his church by producing clear, engaging, fresh, and insightful applications of Reformed theology to life.” In that endeavor, they have hit the mark every time! I am now in the habit of picking up their latest releases, to see what new insights I may learn and wrestle with from the pages of the excellent works they produce.

There, in short, is how I came to be reading “Message of the General Epistles”. This book is incredible. Over and over I experience the rush of new understanding, of the “ah-ha!” moment. I have a feeling, as I work through these pages, and reflect upon the questions at the end of each chapter, that as I read through this book again later down the road (for it is MOST DEFINITELY going on my permanent shelf), that I will still learn more the next time, and the time after that.

This book takes an investment of time and focus. While written so anyone can read and understand, it still requires a methodical approach to fully comprehend.

I particularly like the fact that the author takes many of the ten-dollar words we hear in the church, and breaks it down for those who didn’t go to seminary, and don’t happen to have a dictionary nearby. And even beyond that, he then illustrates the concepts through specific Biblical text, and provides clear daily application. Mr. Crowe’s writing style has a great teaching quality to it, flowing from one point to the next seamlessly. I find myself journaling many notes, writing down quotes to mull over later and explore more fully.

This is a book to be shared. As I’ve read through, I’ve peppered my family and friends with “did you know…” and “what do you think about…”. While the application is firstly very personal and inward looking, the conversations and discussion it will bring with others help to fully round the experience.

I cannot recommend this book enough!

I received a review copy of this work from the publisher through NetGalley

Leave a Reply

