Fiction Review: Janet Evanovich and Goldberg Lee’s “The Scam”

I love mysteries. I also love witty police procedural TV shows. It should come as no surprise then, that two of my favorite to watch and rewatch are “Castle” and “White Collar.” “The Scam” is the perfect blend of the styles of both those shows. The humor, the great character chemistry, and the lightening-fast banter are all spot on for fans of those shows looking for a good book. I am hooked, and will now have to go back and start at the beginning of the series!

The pacing is spot on, never dragging or rushing, but keeps the reader turning the pages in anticipation. The great descriptions of the locations and characters in the story create a vivid atmosphere that sucks the reader in from page one. This all combines into a book I couldn’t put down, finishing in one sitting!

One of my favorite parts was the main character Kate’s interactions with her dad. In a book filled with tons of humor, these scenes were most often the reason for laugh-out-loud moments. 

Another point I found interesting was the authors every once in a while show the action from the point of view of other characters, without losing the Kate-centric tale. It was a neat way to get fully rounded character development, without a lot of exposition, and the transitions between points of view was seamless, so it never felt like an interruption to the story.

Only two things in the whole book made me question the authors. The first is the fact that several times Kate states she wishes to keep a professional distance and not get involved with Nick, even though she is attracted. I really liked that side of her, but then suddenly she starts crossing lines she (up to this point in the series) held firm on. It seemed, even in the short span of this book, somewhat out of character and not the happy conclusion of a “will-they or won’t-they” relationship that has been built.
The second thing was the EPIC cliffhanger! I will freely admit I was very saddened to see the blank pages awaiting me at the end of the work. I didn’t want the story to end! But, alas, I will just have to wait with everyone else for the next installment of a series I am highly recommending!

I received a review copy of this work from the publisher through NetGalley

One thought on “Fiction Review: Janet Evanovich and Goldberg Lee’s “The Scam”

Leave a Reply

