Non-Fiction Review: Rob Burkhart’s “Five Questions of Christmas”

I must confess, the title initially confused me, and I was expecting a different book. Once I got into reading, however, it was so much more than I was expecting! The questions asked are those which were asked AT the first Christmas, not questions ABOUT Christmas. It makes a large difference.

This book is small, but I happened to read it slowly, one chapter at a time, while going about other tasks in my life. So it happened that each chapter hit and spoke deeply to different life events I was going through at that exact moment. I was very encouraged by Mr. Burkhart’s words and the truths he spoke about in a very clear and understandable way. His writing style is very easy for anyone to relate to, and this would be a great book to read through with older children.

Mr. Burkhart doesn’t rehash the “love, joy, peace to all” message that most Christmas-themed books will do. He looks deeper, helping the reader see how Christmas, and the events surrounding it relate directly to our search for identity, purpose, and meaning, and really brings those truths to light in a great way. I was encouraged and challenged with each page. And the questions at the end of each chapter helped me pause and dig deeper into the thoughts and understanding I was gaining.

I highly recommend this work!

I received a review copy of this work from the publisher through NetGalley

Leave a Reply

