Fiction Review: Patrick Carr’s “The Shock of Night”, with novella “By Divine Right”

Upon reading of The Staff and the Sword series by Mr. Carr, he became one of my favorite authors – so after learning of his newest book, I was waiting at fever pitch excitement for its release. I’m not ashamed to admit my squeal of glee when it finally came in the mail! And rightly deserved, as this work exceeded my anticipation and expectations in every way!

I downloaded and read the novella prequel before diving into The Shock of Night, and I am very glad I did. I recommend anyone who wants to get into this series, (which should be everyone), make sure to pick up the novella. It helps to establish the lore and mythology of the world Mr. Carr has created for us, as he has a wonderfully immersive style, and there is a lot of terminology to become familiar with. The novella also sets up the circumstances that allow Willet to act as he does throughout the main work – which might otherwise appear odd to those who don’t know the backstory.

My favorite works are those with stories of redemption at their core, and this book definitely delivers on that point. And this is no simple, easy redemption, but hard-fought, and well written. There are so many twists and turns, that often I would think I had figured out what came next, only to be surprised over and over again. It was a GREAT read.

The immediate tale is nicely wrapped up on the final page, but there is so much more story to be told! The mysteries teased on the back cover still linger, awaiting further masterful unfolding. I continue to eagerly await the next installments of The Darkwater Saga.

I received a review copy of this work from the publisher

Leave a Reply

