Fiction Review: Thomas Locke’s “Merchant of Alyss”

Merchant of Alyss is book two of the series Legends of the Realm, and I highly recommend you pick up the first book, Emissary, as well! This series is amazing, and the author, who writes under a pseudonym for his fantasy series, is a fantastic storyteller.

The books in this series have included a lot of travelling back and forth across the Realm. There are very few stories I have found that can do this type of narrative well, and keep the reader engaged. Merchant of Alyss most definitely delivers! Each new area was described in rich detail, and the interactions among the travelers unwrapped new depths to their characters that pulled you in more and more.

This book is set a year and a half after the first, and there are many new characters to meet. The reveal and descriptions of each individual are great! They are vivid, and stick with you long after you close the cover. I also loved the redemption side of the story, how the main characters bind back together all races and heritages in one accord. Skillfully revealed and layered together, this aspect of the story was the high note for me.

I didn’t want the tale to end, and then it had to end on a massive cliffhanger! I’m sitting at the edge of my seat, waiting for the next one to be released!

I plan to recommend this work a lot, and it’s on my list to give out for gifts!

I received a review copy of this work from the publisher through NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

